RUSH HOUR MUSIC – Japan Series

Amsterdam-based record store Rush Hour recently announced two new reissues on their Japan series to be released on Record Store Day. Following the success of Sounds of the Far East – its retrospective on house producer Soichi Terada – the Japan series casts a spotlight on rare 1980’s boogie tracks by Ryo Kawasaki, Eri Ohno, and Ruriko Ohgami. These singles exemplify the smooth and breezy sounds often referred to as City Pop, which draws from AOR, disco, funk and R&B. Popular in the 1980s, City Pop reflects the new technology and sophisticated cosmopolitanism associated with modern urban life at the height of the Japanese bubble economy. Rush Hour will drop two releases that expand the scope of the series to highlight classic Japanese electronic music and rare dub and reggae. The label is cutting a 7-inch of Ryuichi Sakamoto’s “Thousand Knives Of” and “Plastic Bamboo” and Pecker’s highly sought-after LP Pecker Power, which features appearances from reggae legends Augustus Pablo and Sly and Robbie. Listen to the teasers below and check them out at record stores on 22 April 2017.